Musicians I’ve Photographed or Interviewed

 

In May of 2008, I joined the Carib Press (Los Angeles based Caribbean Press Magazine) team as a writer and photographer for the Entertainment section.  I always have enjoyed attending shows and concerts so I figured why not write about it and take photos to document them.  My good friend Carolioness was already the Editor and she asked if I was interested in making the best of being out all the time.  It was a great opportunity so I jumped on it and I’m so thankful that I have.  I have had amazing experiences and it’s opened many doors for me.  Not to mention, I get in to shows for free.  I have interviewed and photographed MANY of my favorite artists.  And let me tell you, festivals are enjoyed on a WHOLE other level when you are in the photo pit.  Let’s just say I pretty much see it all from up there and backstage.  Life has been good!  LOL  Here are some of the photos from various shows.  Unfortunately many of the shows that I have photographed required me to sign that they would ONLY be used for Carib Press so I am sharing what I can.  Enjoy, feel free to comment.  BUT PLEASE DON’T STEAL PICTURES!

My first day of having my camera and first concert I shot.  Capleton @ UCLA

My first day of having my camera and first concert I shot. Capleton @ UCLA

 

Tarrus Riley @ Sierra Nevada 09

Tarrus Riley @ Sierra Nevada 09

 

Etana @ Sierra Nevada 09

Etana @ Sierra Nevada 09

 

Anthony B @ Sierra Nevada 09

Anthony B @ Sierra Nevada 09

 

Talib Kweli @ Rhythm Lounge w Idle Warship

Talib Kweli @ Rhythm Lounge w Idle Warship

 

Check the homie dj Rhettmatic in Talib's left shoulder..he was standing behind Talib.

Check the homie dj Rhettmatic in Talib's left shoulder..he was standing behind Talib.

 

dj wHat?! @ Apartment West

dj wHat?! @ Apartment West

 

Lutan Fiyah @ studio in LA.  This photo has been used for many fliers with no photo credit given.

Lutan Fiyah @ studio in LA. This photo has been used for many fliers with no photo credit given.

 

Lutan Fiyaaaaah ball! @ Sonido Sundays, LA.

Lutan Fiyaaaaah ball! @ Sonido Sundays, LA.

 

Ricky General, ME, and Sizzla @ Seabreeze, Long Beach 08

Ricky General, ME, and Sizzla @ Seabreeze, Long Beach 08

 

Ras Attitude & dj JFX runnin things at Park Jam, Long Beach.  August 09

Ras Attitude & dj JFX runnin things at Park Jam, Long Beach. August 09

 

Rootsman @ Sunset Cruise Boat Party.

Rootsman @ Sunset Cruise Boat Party.

 

Oh how I LOVE BABY CHAM! Summer 08, Long Beach

Oh how I LOVE BABY CHAM! Summer 08, Long Beach

 

Baby Cham at Reggae Rising 08

Baby Cham at Reggae Rising 08

 

Movado UCLA 09

Movado UCLA 09

 

More Movado UCLA 09

More Movado UCLA 09

 

Assassin @ UCLA 09 (DAMN he's handsome)

Assassin @ UCLA 09 (DAMN he's handsome)

 

Erykah Badu @ UCLA 09

Erykah Badu @ UCLA 09

 

She's a BAD MAMA JAMMAH!

She's a BAD MAMA JAMMAH!

 

Leela James @ UCLA 09

Leela James @ UCLA 09

 

Queen Ifrica Backstage @ Bob Day 09

Queen Ifrica Backstage @ Bob Day 09

 

Etana backstage @ Bob Day 09

Etana backstage @ Bob Day 09

 

Pressure with EmPRESSdem

Pressure with EmPRESSdem

 

Haile UP Ras Attitude and Bobo David

Haile UP Ras Attitude and Bobo David

 

A WHO DAT?

A WHO DAT?

 

dj Dasheye of Tribe Of Kings in Long Beach @ Apartment West

dj Dasheye of Tribe Of Kings in Long Beach @ Apartment West

 

MessenJAH Selah a pose up

MessenJAH Selah a pose up

 

Ras Indio and I at Park Jam 08

Ras Indio and I at Park Jam 08

 

Sizzla @ Reggae Rising 08

Sizzla @ Reggae Rising 08

 

More Kalonji cause I just can't get enuff of him

More Kalonji cause I just can't get enuff of him

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dinahismtravelin
    Oct 02, 2009 @ 01:06:09

    love it!!! your wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

